Every Little Scrap

Kathi’s Scrap Blog

Scrapbook Album Organization: 3 More…Nature and Disney World March 25, 2009

Filed under: SB Organization — Kathi @ 3:54 pm

Moving on to my next categories of sorted LOs, I knew I had mixed sizes.  Substantially 12×12 but I also had a couple 6×12 and 8.5×11 LOs that I needed to accommodate as well.  I knew I would use my favorite American Crafts D-Ring 12×12 Modern Albums for these categories.

These albums come in various spine colors with plain chipboard fronts and backs.  You can decorate the plain chipboard or even cover it with pattern paper.  I plan to leave my albums plain and may add some rub-ons in the lower right corner at a later time.

These albums come with 10 top-loading page protectors and I already had on hand American Crafts page protectors in 6×12, 8.5×11, 11×8.5, and 8×8.  I love that you can mix all sizes of LOs in these albums.

So, my third complete album is Nature and contains LOs including landscapes, wildlife, seasons, flowers, etc.  Again, I’ve added a chipboard tag with ribbon to the spine of all my albums.

And here’s how this album looks filled with various LO sizes – you’re looking at a 6×12 followed by an 8.5×11 and then a 12×12:

I love this look and really love that I’m free to scrap in whatever size I want to and know that the LO will fit in my existing 12×12 albums.

I then moved on to my next category of LOs which are of my trip to Disney World in October 2008.  I didn’t realize I had scrapped this many Disney photos, but already had enough LOs to fill one album so I went ahead and started a volume 2 for Disney.  Again, these two albums are American Crafts D-Ring 12×12 Modern Albums.

 

Scrapbook Album Organization: 2 Albums…Celebrate and Travel

Filed under: SB Organization — Kathi @ 3:15 pm

I’ve been working on this for the last few days since I’ve been a bad scrapper.  Really, I had 300+ LOs stacked in a rubbermaid tub and had never put any in albums.  I had a few albums – various post-bound 12×12, but not nearly enough.  Last week I found 8 of my favorite American Crafts D-Ring 12×12 Modern Albums for $6.99 at Tuesday Morning and decided that these albums combined with the post-bound albums I already had would at least get me started.

First, I sorted all the loose LOs into categories, which I certainly tweaked along the way.  Once I had the LOs in categories, I then resorted each category to place the LOs in more or less chronological order.

I started with the smaller categories of LOs and a couple Kodak 12×12 post-bound albums that my sister gave me a few years ago.  She scored two of these for just a couple of dollars at Big Lots and they are actually decent quality, are true 12×12, and contain 15 top loading page protectors.

I really don’t care for post-bound albums since it’s too hard to move LOs around, so the first thing I did to all post-bound albums that I used was to remove the posts and insert Pioneer Snap Load Kits.  This is definitely the way to go if you are using post-bound albums.

Two of my smaller categories of LOs contained all 12×12 LOs, so I thought these categories would be perfect for the two Kodak post-bound albums. 

My first assembled album is Celebrate and contains LOs about holidays, birthdays, anniversaries – basically anything we celebrate.  I used 7Gypsies stickers to decorate the window.

And I decided to use some chipboard tags and ribbon to decorate the spine of all my albums – makes it easy to identify and pull an album off the shelf.

The second album I assembled is Journey and is for vacations (those that don’t get their own album), weekend getaways, day trips, scrapbook retreats and conventions – basically anywhere we travel.

Each of these albums is only about half full, so I have room for growth.  Seems I don’t scrap that many events.  And sorry for the bad photos – it’s really overcast and rainy today, but I wanted to get the albums put away today, so photographed them anyway.

Stay tuned for more to come…