Every Little Scrap

Kathi’s Scrap Blog

Scrapbook Album Organization: 2 Albums…Celebrate and Travel March 25, 2009

Filed under: SB Organization — Kathi @ 3:15 pm

I’ve been working on this for the last few days since I’ve been a bad scrapper.  Really, I had 300+ LOs stacked in a rubbermaid tub and had never put any in albums.  I had a few albums – various post-bound 12×12, but not nearly enough.  Last week I found 8 of my favorite American Crafts D-Ring 12×12 Modern Albums for $6.99 at Tuesday Morning and decided that these albums combined with the post-bound albums I already had would at least get me started.

First, I sorted all the loose LOs into categories, which I certainly tweaked along the way.  Once I had the LOs in categories, I then resorted each category to place the LOs in more or less chronological order.

I started with the smaller categories of LOs and a couple Kodak 12×12 post-bound albums that my sister gave me a few years ago.  She scored two of these for just a couple of dollars at Big Lots and they are actually decent quality, are true 12×12, and contain 15 top loading page protectors.

I really don’t care for post-bound albums since it’s too hard to move LOs around, so the first thing I did to all post-bound albums that I used was to remove the posts and insert Pioneer Snap Load Kits.  This is definitely the way to go if you are using post-bound albums.

Two of my smaller categories of LOs contained all 12×12 LOs, so I thought these categories would be perfect for the two Kodak post-bound albums. 

My first assembled album is Celebrate and contains LOs about holidays, birthdays, anniversaries – basically anything we celebrate.  I used 7Gypsies stickers to decorate the window.

And I decided to use some chipboard tags and ribbon to decorate the spine of all my albums – makes it easy to identify and pull an album off the shelf.

The second album I assembled is Journey and is for vacations (those that don’t get their own album), weekend getaways, day trips, scrapbook retreats and conventions – basically anywhere we travel.

Each of these albums is only about half full, so I have room for growth.  Seems I don’t scrap that many events.  And sorry for the bad photos – it’s really overcast and rainy today, but I wanted to get the albums put away today, so photographed them anyway.

Stay tuned for more to come…

 

One Response to “Scrapbook Album Organization: 2 Albums…Celebrate and Travel”

  1. Melanie Says:

    Good on you Kathi, I love the themes of your albums and the way you label them.


Leave a Reply

